Just Write!

I know I’ve written about this before, and taught it over and over in my Fiction Writing classes, but it bears repeating. If you want to write, then make yourself write.

Hectic day? Too much to do? Force yourself to set time aside – perhaps early in the morning, or late at night if you’re a night owl. Find a time that you can set aside – skip an hour of television or online gaming (yikes!) and write!

What’s that you say? Even when you sit down to write, you can’t write? You just stare blankly at the screen. Well, just use the keys, press them down, engage the keyboard even if you aren’t engaging your brain – or your muse. Even if it’s dreck and you delete the whole thing, you need to make yourself write. It’s like priming a pump so it doesn’t go dry.

Other writers have said they can write about anything to keep that writing pump primed. For me, it doesn’t work well. I can write all day long, but fiction writing is different. I immerse myself in that world, I feel like I’m there. So writing other things (like this article, for example) don’t really work that well for me. I must write fiction. But whatever works for you – do it. Write. Just. . . write!

2 Responses to “Just Write!”

  1. And all this time I thought I could just press books against my head and it would sink in. 😉

    Good point to be reminded of. Thanks.

    Like

  2. Thanks, Rick. I guess that’s my job – being a mum to new writers and telling them the basics, just as I tell my kids the basics (don’t slam the door! – oy, my 32 year old still hasn’t grasped that one!).

    Like

Leave a Reply

