Sharing My Writing Process – An Experiment

So the whole idea of this blog-hop is kind of an experiment – sharing links to and from other blogs to see if we can generate more interest in our stories and writing. And for me, that’s the hardest part – getting folks interested and willing to take a chance on an unknown author.

I was tricked – tricked, I say! – into this blog-hop by Travis Perry. Okay, not really. But let’s pretend. So to get even, check out his site http://travissbigidea.blogspot.com/. Go ahead! He deserves it! Really, he does.

Now to my part of this blog-hop:

I have tons of stories, most of them in two universes.

One is a space-western universe with cowboys, horses, spaceships, and lots more fun stuff. Yeah, I know, it seems pretty far-fetched, but hey – that’s half the fun! The first book, Deuces Wild: Beginners’ Luck started out as a proof-of-concept serial novel, published chapter by chapter in Ray Gun Revival magazine. With the help of my friend Bill Snodgrass, it was later released as a print novel. Currently, it’s available only as an ebook, but I do have plans to release it again in print when – *drum roll*
I get the second book finished. Yes, it’s about halfway there and I’m going to do my ray-gunslingin’ best to get it published before the end of 2014! So book two of the Deuces Wild universe is on its way!

The second universe, which I’m calling the Gifts of the Elders, or just the Elders Universe (wow – thrilling name, isn’t it?), is something I’ve been working on since the mid-80s. I gave up writing for years due to lots of boring reasons, but finally gave in to the insanity of it and began writing down the stories in earnest. It’s all about swords and capes and derring-do and forgotten technology about to be rediscovered, which will drastically change the lives of everyone on their world. It’s also got some thrills, adventure, and just a little romance (or how else do I come up with new generations of characters?).
The first book of that series is Sword’s Edge – just published in ebook on 11 March, and soon to be in print as well (“soon” means “as soon as possible” – like maybe tomorrow – and it would be my luck to have my print book come out on April Fool’s day, wouldn’t it? But we’ll see… Anyway, I’m *bouncing* in anticipation!). It’s already receiving great reviews on Amazon and Smashwords (just scroll down to reviews). And a review by The TLC Librarian. Check it out. Really. Right now. The blog will wait…

Okay – back? Did you read the reviews? Uh huh. So….. did you get the book? Good. Read it. Much great reading goodness therein. Go ahead, the blog can wait some more…

(about 130k words later)

Finished reading it? Okay, then to answer the question I’m already being asked: yes, the sequel is underway. But wait, there’s more! I’ve also got a prequel almost finished! And rough drafts of books three, four, and five (counts on fingers) – er, at least!

Now onto the other things I’m supposed to talk about in this blog post, like my genre and how my stories are unique. Well, I sort of hop all around in genre, or sub-genre anyway. I like to write things that take place on other planets, or in other times, or both, or in space. So science fiction covers what I usually write, but I don’t want to paint myself into a corner, because I never know to where my mind will fly off. Are my stories unique? I’d like to think so. Plots and tropes are endlessly repeated, but what makes a story unique is an author’s approach, we’re told. I’d say the reviews of both my published books seem to bear out that I can tell some whopping good stories. Why not let me know what *you* think!

As to why I write what I write: because it’s what I like. It’s where my mind goes, where my dreams take me. It’s as simple as that.

My writing process is all over the map. Sometimes it starts with a character, or a situation, or snip of a scene (often from dreams – which is how Sword’s Edge came about), and then I have to fill in all the details. It’s mostly seat of the pants, although I do have a mental overview of the plot arc in my mind. Sometimes the characters or the plots take unexpected detours before arriving at the final destination though. Occasionally my characters want to do something that totally wrecks the plot and I have to back up and make a change to get them to stay with the flow I intended.

The next part of the blog-hop is supposed to be recommending three more writing friends. Unfortunately, I don’t have three more writing friends, but if you wish to hop on the bandwagon – you can leave a blurb about your writing and your URL in the comments.

Thanks for reading!

3 Responses to “Sharing My Writing Process – An Experiment”

  1. Hey, Lee! I enjoyed your post. Travis tagged me, too, so I’ll be concocting a bunch of sophisticated lies about my writing process– No, no, I’ll tell the truth. 🙂

    Congrats on the great reviews!

    Like

  2. […] King, a friend and fellow writer, is also participating in the hop. Her newest novel, Sword’s Edge, is now available and gaining excellent […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

