Favorite Word – 8 January 2022

I recently used this week’s word several times in referring to a troublesome trio that gave me headaches. Fortunately, the people I had been talking to about the situation either knew the word or got it from context, so I didn’t have to play dictionary. πŸ™‚

triumvirate

(Warning: if you are hippopotomonstrosesquippedaliophobic, you may wish to avoid these posts. πŸ˜‰)


I love learning new words myself, which is why I do My Favorite Words, and I don’t really get any feedback, but truly I’d love to know if you know the words I share, or if you’ve learned a new word. πŸ™‚


I began reading at a young age, thanks to parents who read to me and provided me with books. And fortunately,  the local library indulged my addiction, even allowing me to take out books “above my grade level.” So it’s no surprise that my stories might have a few “big words.” I don’t consciously try to use bombastic vocabulary (by the way, I learned bombastic from a comic book, thankyouverymuch), but if a word fits the situation or conversation, I’ll use it.

If you haven’t yet read any of my books and are curious about the vocabulary therein, check out either of my series:

Deuces Wild (space opera)

The Sword’s Edge Chronicles (epic science fantasy)

😎

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.